• At least 18 years old
• Florida Resident
• 3 Hour On-line Education Course (required for new notaries only)
• If not a U.S. citizen, you must submit a recorded Declaration of Domicile.
• If you have a felony conviction or one which adjudication was withheld, additional documentation is required. Learn More
In order for the Governor’s Notary Section to evaluate your qualification for a Notary Public for the State of Florida, the following information is required:
1. A written statement regarding the nature of the felony charge(s): This statement should include the circumstances surrounding the charge(s), as well as any information the applicant wishes to make known about his or her life since the conviction.
2. A copy of the Judgment and Sentencing Order (or a comparable document) from the trial court. This document is also required even if adjudication was withheld by the court or if the conviction took place in another state or in a federal court.
3. A copy of the document restoring civil rights or issuing pardon to the convicted felon. In Florida, that document is a Certificate of Restoration of Civil Rights. If civil rights were restored in another state, the name or format of the document may differ. Note: If adjudication was withheld on the felony charge, civil rights were not lost. Therefore, this document would not be required.
Please note that this information is required for new or renewal appointments. Therefore, if the above information were submitted for the current notary appointment, it would also be required again upon renewal.
Submission of the above-required documentation does not guarantee that the Governor will approve the applicant since appointment as a notary is discretionary. Should the Governor deny an applicant the privilege of becoming a notary in the State of Florida, a full refund will be granted.
Complete information is important to ensure that we can process your application in a timely manner. Please note, however, that since these types of applications are referred to the Governor’s office on an individual basis, a decision regarding the appointment will be returned in approximately 3 to 6 months.
1. Complete the on-line notary application provided on our web site
2. Print & sign the application/bond forms (a friend needs to complete Affidavit of Character section)
3. Mail forms to our office (State requires original signatures)
4. New notaries only: Complete on-line education course, print & sign certificate of completion, mail it in with your application to our office
Follow the same steps outlined above for “becoming a notary public”. No education course is required for renewal notary commissions. However, the education course is required if notary commission expiration date is over 10 years old.
New and renewal commissions are both 4 year terms.
New and renewal notary commission are processed within 10 business days or less.
A $7500 notary bond is required to be a Florida notary. Should a notary be negligent in his/her duties, the injured party can collect up to $7500 in compensation from the surety company providing the bond. The surety company would then seek compensation from the notary for damages. Errors & Omissions Insurance would pay for these damages up to the insurance policy limit that is purchased by the notary.
Yes, you can be sued for negligence as a notary. Errors and omissions insurance would pay your claim (up to the limit of the policy) because of any negligent act you commit while notarizing a document. E&O insurance can be purchased in addition to our notary package.
The State requires original signatures on the application form, but will accept fax copies for the education course certificate.
You should report a lost or stolen stamp to the Department of State in writing.
You need to send a name change form and payment of $40 to our office within 60 days of your name change. We will update your records with the State and provide you with a new stamp and commission certificate. You may continue to notarize documents in your old name until your updated stamp is received.
You can notarize a document for anyone EXCEPT your mother, father, son, daughter, spouse or yourself. Also, you may not notarize any documents for which you may have a financial interest or are a party to the underlying document.
Yes, you can perform a wedding for anyone (including famiy members) who has a valid Florida marriage license. You may charge up to $30 for the ceremony, plus an additional fee for travel expenses.
Up to $10 per signature
Yes, provided you obtain adequate identification.
No. A Florida notary public must resign his/her commission should he/she move to another state.
We have a secure, direct link to the State.
We accept Visa, MasterCard, Amex,
checks, & purchase orders.
Your complete package will be mailed out within 10 business days or less.